Previous Winners of the Scott-Vollrath Piobaireachd Trophy

The winner of the Piobaireachd portion of the competition is awarded the Scott-Vollrath Piobaireachd Trophy.

Piobaireachd (pronounced Peeb-Rock) is the classical music of the Great Highland Scottish Bagpipe. The study and performance of this ancient form of music tests all the skills and endurance of the Piper to his or her limit.

The Invitational is proud and honoured to have Leslie Scott as a Patron of this Art.

Scott-Vollrath Piobaireachd Trophy Winners

  • 2003: No Award – Recital by P/M Ed Neigh – “Andrew MacNeill of Colonsay”
  • 2004: Justin Gonzales – “To Long in this Condition”
  • 2005: Robbie Beaton – “The End of the Great Bridge”
  • 2006: Jon Maffett – “The MacFarlanes’ Gathering
  • 2007: Dan Cole – “The Desperate battle”
  • 2008: Lars Stromdahl – “Old Men of the Shells”
  • 2009: Ursa Beckford – “The Mackay’s Banner”
  • 2010: Grace Washam – “Lament for the Viscount of Dundee”
  • 2011: Ursa Beckford – “In Praise of Morag”
  • 2012: Kirk Brunon – “The Groat”
  • 2013: Jacob Lindler – “The King’s Taxes”
  • 2014: Grace Washam – “Lady MacDonald’s Lament”
  • 2015: Grace Washam – “Lament for Donald Duaghal Mackay”
  • 2016: Kenny Flynt  – “Lachlan Mac Neill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy to adjudicator Ed Krintz”